New books at the LRC…

We have lots of new books to start off Term 2 so come on in to the LRC and take some books for a ‘test drive’ to find one you would like to read….

Stuff Happens is a great new series that I’m sure lots of our boys will enjoy reading because the boy characters in these books are just like them with the same everyday problems. I really like the way each author explains at the end how the story relates to an event in their life when they were a boy…

If you enjoy reading books by Andy Griffiths, Jeff Kinney and Paul Jennings then you will definitely enjoy the My Life series. Tom Weekly is the funny main character from the My Life series by Tristan Bancks. There was lots of laughing out loud when the  Year 4 classes and I read “My Nan’s Tougher” from the first book. Tristan also has a fantastic website that you can explore HEREThis is the book trailer for his first book, My Life and Other Stuff I made Up…

Last but definitely not least is a book for our Senior Fiction readers that Mrs Hembree recommended to me called The Honest Truth. This book touched my heart. The main character Mark is an incredibly brave boy for many reasons who against all odds sets off on a life and death quest to climb Mt Ranier with his much loved dog Beau. It is a book you won’t want to put down…and you might need some tissues…

This book is set in Seattle where Mrs Hembree lives and she actually went to Mt Ranier to take the photos for her stunning book trailer below.  Read Mrs Hembree’s blog post about The Honest Truth HERE.  Notice how the book’s front cover is different to our cover here in Australia. Which one do you prefer? I love that the author Dan Gemeinhart is also a teacher librarian and this is his first book! I certainly hope that he will be writing more books.

What book/s would you like to read from our new books?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *