Yeo-Low Medal Award 2017

There was a buzz of excitement and anticipation in the library on Friday as an eager group of readers waited to see if their name would be selected to win the AFL indigenous football or if they would be announced as the winner of our coveted Yeo-Low Medal for Reading for 2017.

Congratulations to the 57 students from P – 6 who completed the reading challenge during Term Three by reading nine books based on the Book Week theme ‘Escape to Everywhere’ and also completed a creative response about one of the books. Your enthusiasm for reading and amazing creativity make my teacher librarian heart sing!

This is the third year we have held our Yeo-Low Medal Reading Challenge that was started by our author friend Adrian Beck in 2015. The Yeo-Low Medal combines our love of reading and AFL football and you can read about how it started hereAdrian has supported our Yeo-Low Medal readers each year and for the past two years we have been very lucky to have both Adrian and author friend Felice Arena host our Yeo-Low Medal award ceremonies which have been such a fun celebration of reading. This year Adrian and Felice outdid themselves….

A big congratulations to our winners and to everyone who participated in the Yeo-Low Medal Reading Challenge this year!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “Yeo-Low Medal Award 2017

  1. What a wonderful afternoon to celebrate the challenge. All involved are winners! Leila was so excited to be a part of this. A big thank you Kim for making reading such an enjoyable journey. You are a gem.

  2. Thank you, Belinda!

    We had a fabulous time celebrating books and reading with Adrian and Felice. Thank you for encouraging and supporting Leila with her reading and creative resonse for the Yeo-low Medal. She was so excited on Friday!

    Happy reading…

    Kim 😊📚

  3. Hi Madison,

    Thanks for watching the slideshow. We all had lots of fun at the Yeo-Low Medal award ceremony with Adrian and Felice!


    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *