Stuff Happens: Dale by Adrian Beck

On Friday morning I received a rather mysterious tweet from our author friend, Adrian Beck. I arrived at the school office to discover Adrian had left four advanced copies of his new book (not due in the shops until May). When I looked inside the books I noticed Adrian had written messages to three very lucky students and one very lucky teacher librarian….

Last year Adrian instigated our very popular Yeo-low Medal Award as a fun way of promoting reading at our school and presented the Yeo-low Medal and football to our winners. It turns out that Adrian hasn’t forgotten those students. The copies of his latest book were for both winners of the Yeo-low Medal and for the student who was first to finish reading for the Yeo-low Medal.  I wish Adrian was there to see their surprised faces when I gave each student their book, followed by huge grins and a look of pride as they read their personal message from Adrian.

Thank you so much Adrian for continuing to promote and support reading at our school!

 

Adrian’s new book has been written for the Stuff Happens series which includes books written by a variety of Australian authors. The Stuff Happens books are real life stories where…

Stuff happens sometimes.
Everyday stuff. At school, at home, with sport, with mates.

For Dale, it happened during the school play…

I don’t want to give too much away about Dale’s story so all I’m going to say is:

If you are a redhead (any shade) who is regularly called Ranga, Ginger, Sauce, Strawbs, Bluey and other names…you should read this book!

If you have a dream to be on the stage one day…you should read this book!

If you are planning payback on a friend for something they did to you…you should read this book!

If you know the author Adrian Beck…you should DEFINITELY read this book!

As a redhead himself, Adrian has included some of his own experiences and uses his trademark sense of humour to tell Dale’s story so well…I know it’s going to be a popular book in our library!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “Stuff Happens: Dale by Adrian Beck

  1. Hi Miss Yeomans
    It is an honour to have received a book from Adrian Beck that isn’t in the shops yet!! I’ll start reading it tonight.
    Nathan S

  2. Hi Nathan,

    I think we were all very honoured to receive a signed copy of Adrian’s new book!

    I know you are going to really enjoy reading Dale’s story…

    Happy reading Nathan!

    Miss Y 🙂

  3. Dear Adrian Beck,
    Thank you so much for dropping off your book!!!
    I’m so excited to finally start reading it
    From Ella

  4. Hi Ella and Nathan!

    I hope you like the book. You’ll have to send me a review! I’m sure I can handle some constructive criticism…

    Well done again on winning the Yeo-Low. Happy reading and make sure you keep Miss Y on her toes.

    AB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *