The Preps are settling in at the LRC

This Mount Bookerest is made from the books returned from our Prep classes!

As you can see our Preps are enjoying borrowing from our library. Did you know the Preps scanned their book on their own on their first visit to the LRC? Now they are choosing a picture book from the shelves, scanning it and putting it in their library bag just like everyone else…

On their first day the Preps met our Story Keeper who looks after our books. Miss Y told them how our Story Keeper was made for her by a man at a craft market in Brisbane. The Preps felt the Story Keeper’s face and noticed it was hard and not soft and squishy like their faces! They are all looking forward to having a turn opening the Story Keeper to see what story he is keeping a secret for Miss Y to read in the LRC when they visit.

They also heard about out beautiful Story Chair where Miss Y reads lots of wonderful stories and where children can sit to snuggle up with a book.

These are three books the Preps have enjoyed so far…

Do you remember listening to these books when you were in Prep? Do you have a favourite?

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “The Preps are settling in at the LRC

  1. That’s nice that they are settling in well! I remember doing and reading all of those things ! 😀

    from Meg : )
    3O

  2. Hi Meg,

    It wasn’t that long ago that you were in Prep! I’m glad you remember the books and some of the things we did. These are some of my favourite stories to read to Prep!

    Happy reading…

    Miss Y 😍📚

  3. It’s great the Preps are reading! I remember reading all those books.
    from Abbey 5O :):):):)

  4. Hi Abbey,

    Thanks for subscribing to the LRC blog. 🙂

    I’m glad you remember reading all of the books. I read them each year so we have those stories in common at our school. We all know the Library Lion who reminds us to walk in the library; Walter showed us the magic of books with his wand and we used a wand too and thanks to Winston the Book Wolf, we all know that we eat books with our eyes!

    Happy holidays Abbey!

    Miss Y 🙂

  5. Dear Ms Y

    I love the LRC there are so many books to read and all of the very comfy bean bags to read all the books on.
    #IlovetheLRC

  6. Dear Ms Y
    I guess you had fun with the authors. I really love their books! I want to ask you if you prefer Billie B Brown or Sporty Kids?
    Keep up your good work with your job!
    Love Lucy the Pokemon champion.

  7. Hi Lachlan,

    I wish I had time to sit and read in our comfy beanbags! Do you have a favourite book or series you like to read?

    #ILovetheLRC too!

    Miss Y 🙂

  8. That is toooo cute Miss Y!
    I remember all of those books. However Library Lion is my favourite :]

  9. Hi Lucy,

    I think I prefer the Sporty Kids because I like different sports and I think Felice makes them fun to read. Which do you prefer?

    You definitely are a Pokemon champion, Lucy!

    Miss Y 🙂

  10. Hi Colette,

    I love that all of the year levels know these stories!

    I think ‘Library Lion’ might be my favourite too…

    Happy reading!

    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *