Beautiful Budapest

Spring is definitely in the air at last in Eastern Europe. Β The sun shone and the skies were blue for two days of exploring Budapest the capital of Hungary. Β Ten million people live in Budapest. Β It is split in two by the Danube River. Buda on the West side is hilly and old with narrow winding streets. Β Pest on the East side is more urban and where you will find the city.

There’s lots to see in Budapest…


Created with Haiku Deck, the free presentation app for iPad

I also found a gorgeous children’s bookshop just down the road from where I was staying. I bought this water colour illustration by Agecs Irisz. You can see more of his illustrations here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

18 thoughts on “Beautiful Budapest

  1. Dear Miss Y I wonder if you thought of this song when you saw the Basicilia.
    ” Good King Wenceslaus last looked down on the Feast of Stephen.”
    The monument of the shoes is very sad.
    Thanks for sharing your trip with us.
    Mrs S

  2. Hi Mrs Stewart

    I did think of that song! St Stephen’s is a huge basilica and very ornate.

    We walked a long way along the Danube River to find the memorial of rhe shoes. It is a simple but powerful reminder of the Hungarian Jews .

    The countries I am visiting have such fascinatng stories to tell…

    Miss Y πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Miss Y,

    The photos are awesome. I love the shoes by the Danube. It reminds me of a record my Dad used to play when I was young, the Danube Waltz.

    Glad to see it is sunny. You are having such a fantastic time. Enjoy it.

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful sites with us.

    From Ms. Tieppo

  4. Hi Ms Tieppo

    I’m glad you enjoyed my photos. I’ve taken lots of photos so I can remember all of the wonderful places I’ve seen on my travels.

    The “Shoes on the Danube” is a monument to a very sad story you can read about at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoes_on_the_Danube_Promenade

    The Danube is a beautiful river and I enjoyed an hour boat ride on part of the river.

    I wonder if your Dad still has the record?

    Miss Y πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Miss Y
    what you’ve done is awesome and I wish I was there. It’s nice that you found some books in Czechoslovakia and you went to the salt mines and the dragon and the story is all great!
    It’s great to see you enjoy yourself and when you go to Croatia you can see my family relatives in Zargreb and in Zadar.

    see you soon.

    From Martin B

  6. Hi Martin

    It’s great to hear from you.

    I have just spent the weekend in Zagreb and had a lovely time. My friend Jacqui who I’m travelling with has relatives in Zagreb too and they showed us around Zagreb and even took us to the Opera on Saturday night. There are so many beautiful parks in Zagreb and they were very busy because the sunshine has come with Spring and lots of people were out walking and having coffees.

    I’m hoping we might get to Zadar too as we travel down along the coast.

    At the moment we are in Slovenia.

    Miss Y πŸ˜€

  7. Hi Mrs H

    I hope my bear will feel at home with the other illustrations I have in my study…

    It was the best book shop and the lady working there just loved children’s books! I showed her all the ones she had that I knew.

    Miss Y πŸ™‚

  8. Dear Miss Y,

    Once again another wonderful blog post. I have really enjoyed travelling with you on this amazing trip.

    Your photos are wonderful. I really feel that this trip has come at the right time for you if you know what I mean.

    Just love the fact you are finding all these amazing books stores. Just love the colour illustration book you found too.

    Happy travelling Miss Y.

    From AA πŸ™‚

  9. Hi Miss Y
    Great to hear from you about Croatia it sounds like you had a great time and I know the parks are very nice and it also good to hear you have a friend with you. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

    P.S did you understand the opera?

    From Martin B

  10. Hi AA

    I’m so glad you are enjoying travelling with me.
    I have taken so many photos it will take me weeks to sort through them all!

    Tonight I had dinner out on the cobbled promenade in the old town of Ljubljana, Slovenia next to the river, looking up at the castle on the
    hill as a musician played his violin on the bridge nearby…I had to pinch myself to make sure I was really there!

    Miss Y πŸ˜‰

  11. Hi Martin

    The opera was sung in German. Thank goodness they had electronic subtitles above the stage in both English and Croatian or I would have had trouble understanding it!

    Have you ever been to the opera?

    Miss Y πŸ˜‰

  12. We think you should have a photo exhibition when you come back from overseas.

    We also wanted to know how you are going to carry all the books you would of bought?

    Jo-Anne and Jamii 4V

  13. Hi Jo-Anne and Jamii

    It’s great to hear from you.

    I have taken so many photos you might need to put aside a week to see them all! I will definitely show some of them at school in my classes when I return to school.

    I have been very good and only bought two books so far. I have visited lots of bookshops though!

    Hope you are both well and Term 2 is going smoothly.

    Miss Y πŸ™‚

  14. Hi Miss Y,

    Wow, you do get around! I bet you sleep well at night after all your walking.
    Thanks for your breathtaking photos and amazing descriptions of your travels.
    You make the places come alive for us.
    How did you feel after walking 553 steps to the Savica waterfall? I wonder what makes the water look green?

    Take care and keep well.
    Big hugs from all your St. Martin’s friends,
    x Mrs. V.

  15. Hi Mrs V

    I just hope I’m not wearing my legs down and making them even shorter with all of the walking! I have been sleeping very well indeed.

    I was relieved to get to the top of the 553 steps, but the waterfall at the end made it worth the effort! The water is green partly because it’s a glacial lake and also because it has deposits of tufa limestone. The green colour is really beautiful and the water is so clear.

    I hope things are going smoothly in 5VM. Looking forward to seeing everyone in a few more weeks…

    Miss Y πŸ™‚

  16. Hi Miss Y
    It’s nice that you had sub titles.I have never been to the opera but when I went to Croatia I went to a play that didn’t have sub titles and everyone laughed at time to time and I had no idea what it was about.

    From Martin

  17. Hi Martin

    We visited Zadar yeterday on the way to Split. We visited the Old Town. It was beautiful!

    I was amazed to see the ancient Roman Ruins and loved wandering around the streets. I was was absolutely fascinated by the organ pipes they have put in near the sea and you can hear the organ pipes being played by the sea – it was amazing!

    In Spilt in the Old Town they have a church called St Martin and it’s the smallest church in Europe!

    When were you last in Croatia? It’s such a bea!utiful country

    Miss Y. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *