“Paying it forward” – Big Books for Bangladesh

Last week in each of our Library classes we talked about “Paying it forward” and how we can do this by raising money for Big Books for the children Miss Wilkinson teaches in Bangladesh.

If you want to get involved here are THREE activities you can choose from…

1.     Brilliant Books Raffle ($1.00)

You can buy your raffle tickets from the LRC before or after school starting THIS WEEK

2.  Have your photo taken in our Story Chair (50cents)

 I will take photos in the LRC before and after school  THIS week and NEXT week.

Have your photo taken with…

Your favourite book

Hugless Douglas

Your friends (with your favourite books or as book characters)

Your brothers and sisters

You will need to  bring me your email address so I can email your photo to you!

3.   Make a Monster Book Mark ($1.00)

Bring your money to your LAST Library lesson in Week 8 (next week) so YOU can make your own Monster bookmark during your library lesson. (Miss Y is happy to write your name in calligraphy on the back if you would like this!)

 

 Which of these activities do you think you would like to do?

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

24 thoughts on ““Paying it forward” – Big Books for Bangladesh

  1. To Miss Y,
    If I want to have a photo with my friends and the story
    chair do I put my money for me in the orange basket ?
    From Hannah W:D

  2. Hi Hannah

    You can put your money in the Orange Basket and I can call you and your friends to the LRC for your photo.

    Don’t forget to write your email address on your envelope so I can email you your photo!

    Miss Y 🙂

  3. Wish I could sit in that amazing chair! Reminds me of ‘Bed knobs and Broomsticks’ magical bed. It’s as if the chair is magic too! I wonder where it would fly you to if it had special powers? I’d love to go into a book! A book world would be amazing!
    Great project!
    Miss Dwyer

  4. Hi Miss Dwyer

    We love our new Story Chair!

    When we first got our Story Chair some children said it looked like The “Wishing Chair” and others said it was “Willy Wonka’s” chair. Lots of children have been having photos in our Story Chair with their favourite books or book toys to raise money. These photos will go on the blog next week so stay tuned!

    Do you have the book called “Miss Smith’s Incredible Storybook” by Michael Garland in your library? You would love it because the book characters come to life as Miss Smith reads the book and the children are transported into the story. We would love to have Miss Smith’s actual book in our LRC!

    Miss Y 🙂

  5. To Miss Y,
    I got my picure in my email thankyou !
    I also emailed it to Bianca
    From Hannah 😀

  6. Hi Miss Y

    I loved the photo of me and my friends it was a great shot and I love my monster book mark it minds my page just right for me!

    Alice

  7. Hi Miss Y

    I would just like to say that the library looks great and I still can’t get over the awesome Story Chair!

    From Stephanie T

  8. Hi Miss Y again

    I would also like to say that I loved making the bookmarks and taking my photo on the story chair!

    Thank you for that!!

    from Stephanie T

  9. Pingback: Windows into learning » Monster Book Marks- Pay It Forward!

  10. To Miss Y,
    I loved making the book marks !
    Are we allowed to make another on on Fun Friday ?
    From Hannah

  11. Hey Miss Y,

    I am really sad that I didn’t get to make a book mark because 4VL has LRC lessons on Wednesdays and Tuesday 29th Nov was my last day at school because my family was going overseas on Wednesday.

    P.S: I have written this message while I am in Dubai. You can show this message to 4VL and have a wonderful Christmas and a happy new year! 🙂

    from Mehul A 4VL

  12. Hi Mehul

    You forgot to come to the LRC on the Fun Friday before you left to make your bookmark! A few other children who were going on holidays came and made their bookmark then.

    Don’t worry – I’m sure we will make more monster bookmarks! I am also uploading links to the LRC Blog so you can make your own when you get home.

    Have a wonderful holiday with your family Mehul and enjoy your Christmas and New Year celebrations overseas!

    Miss Y 🙂

    PS Dubai is on my list of places to visit!

  13. Hi Mehul

    How long will you be in Dubai? What have you been doing on your holiday?

    My mum and I hope to visit Dubai next year. Any recommendations for what we should do or see?

    I’m very busy returning and shelving books this week!

    Miss Y 🙂

  14. Hi Miss Y,

    I was in Dubai for 7 days now I am in Mumbai, India.
    Well these are the things we did in Dubai that you should do – go quad biking, Dune Bashing (getting a ride in a car in the desert = awesome,) visit the Burj Kalifa (tallest tower in the world), visit the Palm Islands and the Altlantis Resort, go shopping at the Mall of Emirates and go to the Burj Al Arab (the only 7 star hotel in the world).

    These are the things you should do in Dubai. 🙂

    Mehul A 🙂

  15. You can also visit Dubai Mall.

    And can you ask Mrs Van if 4VL has received their postcard and tell me.

    Mehul

  16. Hi Mehul

    Thanks for recommending lots of great things to do in Dubai! I’m not sure about the Dune Bashing!!

    I’ll ask Mrs Van about your postcard.

    If you want to click on the “Visitors” tag on the right of the blog you might want to write and tell us a bit about Delhi when you feel like it.

    Miss Y 🙂

  17. Hi Mehul,

    Great to hear from you and to hear that you are having a super holiday. All the things you mentioned bring back fantastic memories for me of my trip to Dubai in January. We stayed in a hotel right on the Palm islands. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and keep in touch if you can.

    4VL haven’t received your postcard yet.

    Regards,
    Mrs Van and 4VL.

  18. Hi Mrs Van and Miss Y,

    I have come back on the 15th to ask if you have received my postcard yet.
    And what date does school finish?

    Mehul A

  19. Hi Mehul

    Mrs Van said that 4VL hasn’t received your postcard yet!

    The children finish school this Tuesday.

    How are you enjoying your time in India? What have you been doing?

    Miss Y 🙂

  20. Hey Miss Y,
    My bookmark is so useful for me use when I read a book, I klnow what to use to mark my page. Thankyou Miss Y for organizing that for us.

    From Georgia 4E

  21. Hi Georgia

    I’m so glad to hear that your bookmark is coming in handy!

    Jacob C in Grade 6 made me a beautiful page corner bookmark of my own and I’m using it right now!

    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *