First day in our new LRC!

The day we have been waiting for (for 2 years!) arrived today!

Today our our new LRC was open for classes!  Two of our favourite characters, Gibblewort the Goblin and Old Tom were there to welcome us to their new home and our new home…

Grade 3S and 3BY were the lucky first classes in the whole school to visit the LRC today.  They didn’t mind that we still have more shelving to be delivered or that we are waiting for our tables and chairs and our special Storytelling Chair to arrive.  They were just SO excited to be in our new LRC!!

The children in 3S and 3BY …

  • Were amazed by how much BIGGER our new LRC is
  • Loved the way they can read in the morning sun near the big windows 
  • Were  impressed with Miss Y’s new office/work room  
  • Enjoyed borrowing at the big new Circulation Desk
  • Explored the new Fiction shelves on wheels
  • Were excited to see we now have our own IWB

Enjoying reading in the sun

 Discovering old friends like Rascal the Dragon

Exploring the new shelves on wheels       

 Finding where favourite books live now

What do YOU like about our new LRC?

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

45 thoughts on “First day in our new LRC!

  1. Hi Judith

    It’s a great learning space…

    You are welcome to come once we’ve got more shelving and furniture! Will let you know.

    Kim 🙂

  2. Hi Celia

    It certainly is a big milestone and a long time in coming!

    We’re still a “work in progress”…but we’ll get there!

    Kim 🙂

  3. Thank you Miss Yeomans for all your work in coordinating the move to the fabulous new LRC at St Martin’s. We all know you will make the LRC the best place to be.
    I’m sure everyone will be impressed
    Trish stewart

  4. Hi Miss Y,

    Everyone in 2TM had so much to say after their visit to the library on Tuesday. They loved all the beautiful space and they felt like they were in a real library!

    It has taken us a while ( 2years) but it has been worth the wait!

    Thank you for making our Library a beautiful place.

    From Ms. Tieppo

  5. Thanks Mrs Stewart!

    I hope that I will have the LRC ready for our big opening!

    Our LRC is definitely the place to be!!

    Miss Y 🙂

  6. Thanks Ms Tieppo

    It has been a wonderful week filled with great excitement as each class came in to see the LRC for the first time. The looks on faces have been priceless!!

    A few students have said that now we have a “real” Library…I always thought were a REAL Library!

    Miss Y 🙂

  7. Hi Riley

    Thank you for leaving a comment.

    I’m glad to hear that you like OUR new library. I think we are going to be very happy in our new home.

    Do you have a favourite part of the new LRC?

    Miss Y 🙂

  8. Dear Miss Yeomans,

    I think the new library has blown me away since the moment I walked into that magnificent massive room.

    I wish I could stay there all the time day and night, morning and afternoon. I just love it so much!

    Good luck with settling in to it still. I will see you on Tuesday morning.

    From Georgia R (4E)

  9. Hi Georgia

    I don’t think you were the only one blown away by our new LRC!! I loved the looks of surprise on lots of faces as the students walked in the door. What a wonderful week it was for us all!

    It’s probably good that we are a “work in progress” for a while so there will be new things to discover in the LRC over the coming months.

    I’ll see you on Tuesday morning Georgia ready to show you some New Books…

    Miss Y 🙂

  10. Hi Miss Y,

    I love everything in the new library. It’s spacious and I just love how all the colours go really well together!

    I am now just starting to read Diary of a Wimpy Kid I am now up to the second book.

    From Stephanie T

  11. Hi Stephanie

    I’m glad you love our new LRC! Mrs Collins and I are working hard to try to get the colours to match! I hope our new Storytelling chair matches in well.

    I’m sure you’re enjoying the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series and having lots of laughs as you are reading. Do you have a favourite character?

    Miss Y 🙂

  12. Dear Miss Yeomans and the school

    I’m on the other side of the World.
    How is the is the new library?
    It looks great in the all pictures. I’m Disappointed that I can not see the opening day
    I hope everyone is safe and well

    Löve from Ailish

  13. Hi Ailish

    Isn’t it amazing that you are on the other side of the world and you can keep in touch with us via the LRC Blog and see what we are doing in the LRC!

    You will love the new LRC! It is lovely and spacious.We are enjoying settling into our new “home”.

    I hope you are having a fabulous time on your holiday! I’m looking forward to hearing all about it when you return to school.

    Stay safe,

    Miss Y 🙂

  14. Hi Miss Y,
    How are you? Just telling you that my favourite part in the new LRC is how big it is and the sunshine.
    Also if you know what I’m talking about – the green thing that’s blocking the sun from coming in is that going to be taken off or is it going to stay there?

    thanks

    Georgia p 4e

  15. Hi Georgia

    I love the sunshine streaming in through the windows – I’d like the time to sit and read there!

    The green screens will be staying there. I think the architect put them there more for privacy and safety and to also add some colour!

    Miss Y 🙂

  16. Dear Miss Y,
    What a wonderful new space you have now for your library! I love all the light coming in through the windows and the beautiful blue walls.

    I also like that your shelves are along the walls, so you can do whatever you want with the middle portion.

    It looks like you have some comfortable pillows for sitting and reading too!

    It’s a dream come true!
    Mrs. Hembree

  17. Dear Miss Y,

    How are you?

    My favourite parts of the new LRC are the tables that look like someone has taken a bite out of them and the area where you read and the sunshine comes in.

    The book I have almost finished reading is called Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone. I am about to start the next book which is Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

    What book are you reading at the moment?

    From Matteus S, 3BY.

  18. Hi Mrs Hembree

    Our new LRC is definitely a dream come true for us all!

    The blue wall is the “feature” wall in our Picture Book area and I’m hoping to add a decal to it. Most of our shelving is along the walls, but we also have some shelves on wheels for our Fiction books. Reading on the cushions in the sunshine is just heavenly!!

    I hope you settle well into your new temporary library and I’m sure your new library will be a dream come true for you too…in 12 month’s time!

    Miss Y 🙂

  19. Hi Matteus

    Thanks for your great comment.

    I’m good thanks – I’m enjoying our blue sky and sunshine!

    I’m glad you like the bite tables. We can experiment with different ways to arrange them depending on what activities we are doing in our classes. I also love the sunshine coming through the windows and I’ve ordered some comfy seats for that spot too!

    What a wonderful effort with your Harry Potter reading so far Matteus! I’m sure you don’t want to put the books down!!

    I have just finished reading a biography called “The Liam Jurrah Story” about the Indigenous football player for Melbourne which I really enjoyed.

    I’m about to start Andy Griffiths’ new book “The 13-storey Treehouse” before I put it in the LRC (so I don’t have to reserve it!)

    Miss Y 🙂

  20. Hi St. Martins,
    I miss you all so much!
    The construction looks like it is going well, I hope I can come back and visit you all later.
    I really want to see what the school looks like when it is finished!
    Bye!
    Genevieve M, Year 7, OLMC
    P.S. Say Hi to everyone for me! 🙂

  21. To Miss Y,
    I really like the bite tables they are cool!!
    I also like the windows where the sun comes in it is nice !!
    From Hannah W

  22. Hi Gen

    Great to see you popping into the LRC Blog!

    We are really enjoying our new LRC, especially the space we have now. Some of the students have said that now we have a “real” library! I wonder if that means I’m a “real” Teacher Librarian now?

    Some of the OLMC girls from Year 7 came for a visit last week and I think they were quite impressed.

    You are most welcome to come and see the new building and all of the changes…you might not recognise St Martin’s now!

    I hope you’re enjoying your new classrooms at OLMC…

    Miss Y 🙂

  23. Hi Hannah

    I’m hoping to get a chance to sit in the beautiful sunshine one morning before school and read in our new Storytelling chair when it arrives…

    Miss Y 🙂

  24. Hi Miss Y,
    I really want to see your story telling chair !!
    I like the library because it is nice and big.
    When everything is in the library will look cool!!
    From Hannah W

  25. Hi Miss Y,
    How are you ???
    I really like the library !!
    That would be nice to sit in the sun on a school morning and read !!
    From Hannah W

  26. Hi Hannah

    Hopefully our Storytelling Chair will be here before the end of term!

    I’m hoping our LRC will be fabulous too when everything is done…

    Miss Y 🙂

  27. Hi Miss Y,
    How are you and Jambo ??
    What is your favourite thing about the library ??
    I think it would look very cool.
    From Hannah W

  28. Dear Miss Y,

    We think the new library is awsome!

    I have not told Sheridan anything about the new library.

    From Emily and Morgan

  29. Hi Emily and Morgan

    Thanks for your comment.

    I’m glad you think our LRC is awesome…we still have more to do yet so it might be “mega-awesome” when it’s finished!

    What do you like best in the new LRC?

    It must be tricky not saying anything to Sheridan about the LRC Morgan! (It’s okay if you do!)

    Miss Y 🙂

  30. Yo Miss Y,
    The new library is looking awesome now that you’ve put the chairs and tables in! Now we can read at our table with the new chairs. I hope 1C isn’t that loud on Thursday in the new computer lab so if we are I apologize.

    Love From Daisy! 🙂

  31. Hi Daisy

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the new chairs and tables. I think the chairs are pretty comfy! I’ve ordered 2 more tables and some more chairs so 25 bottoms will have a spot to sit!!

    I don’t think 1C have been too noisy in the Computer Lab. It’s okay if there’s some talking while you’re working in there so you can help each other while you’re learning.

    What have 1C been doing when they’re in the Computer Lab?

    See you in the LRC this week…

    Miss Y 🙂

  32. Honestly, I am speechless right now.
    After a good couple years, the LRC is finally Complete!
    It looks brilliant, and I would rate it 20 cups of tea (Yes, jolly good!)

    Its great to see a nicer, bigger LRC for the first time ever

    From Matt 😀

  33. Hi Matthew

    You are most welcome to visit the new LRC to experience it for yourself…when you get the opportunity.

    It has been worth the LONG wait!

    Miss Y 🙂

  34. To Miss Y,
    Do you know what colour your storytelling chair is going to be ??
    Are you sad that North Melbourne did not get to be in the finals. I am sad too.
    From Hannah W 3by

  35. Dear Miss Yeomans,

    Did you know that ESSENDON came 8th on the ladder and North Melbourne came 9th on the ladder 3 years in a row?
    I LOVE the bite tables. I like where you put the pillows because when the sun comes in it is nice. I like the colours you have chosen in the LRC.

    from Oliver S (GO ESSENDON!)

  36. Hi Hannah

    I’m not giving away too much about our Storytelling chair so you can get a surprise!

    I was disappointed North Melbourne didn’t make the finals but they have improved this year and hopefully they will make the finals next year!

    Do you like our new orange ottomans?

    Miss Y 🙂

  37. Hi Oliver

    I knew Essendon and North Melbourne finished 8th and 9th last year as well as this year. I’m hoping North Melbourne can make the finals next year…so watch out!!

    I’m glad you like the Bite tables, they’re quite funky. We are lucky to have such a lovely sunny spot to read with our cushions. I’m trying hard to choose colours that look good together Oliver so I’m glad you like them!

    Do you like our new orange ottomans?

    Miss Y (Go Kangas!)

  38. Hi Miss Y,
    I have not seen the orange ottomans but it will
    be a big surprise!
    Yes North Melbourne is much better is much better this year!
    Essendon is better this year too!
    From Hannah (Go Bombers)

  39. Hi Hannah

    Yesterday afternoon Mrs Collins and I unwrapped the new ottomans and put out the new cushions for our reading area…I hope everyone likes them!

    The Storytelling chair arrives this week….yay!

    Miss Y 🙂

  40. Hi Miss Y,
    I can’t wait to see the storytelling chair!!
    I hope everything is in by next term!
    From Hannah W 3by

  41. Hi Miss Y,
    1c have been learning about our senses at the lab. We went on active inspire and made ourselves. After we made ourselves we had to label it.
    Love From Daisy! 🙂

    P.S Can you order one more chair for the library because there’s 26 bottoms in 2TM thanks!

  42. Hi Daisy

    You are doing some very interesting things in the Computer Lab! (I couldn’t hear 1M at all so you must have been very busy working on your pictures and labels).

    We’ll wait until the new chairs arrive before we order more chairs for our “bot-toms”!!

    Have a wonderful holiday Daisy!

    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *