Our Parent-Powered LRC Move

On Thursday, June 30th we moved our books into our brand new LRC!!

A HUGE thank you to more than 40 wonderful parents who volunteered their time and muscles to help carry ALL of our library books up to the new LRC…it was a tough job!!

The LRC is ready to move

The LRC is ready and waiting to move! (Sorry it’s a bit blurry)

After 22 months of waiting we were excited to FINALLY be able to move into our new LRC. At 8.30am on Thursday morning our parent volunteers arrived with big smiles and muscles at the ready. They were about to have a BIG workout…

Our temporary LRC is in the Hall at one end of the school and our new LRC is on Top Yard at the other end of the school. Our volunteers had to carry their loads of books out past the front of the school, up a hill and across Top Yard before reaching the new LRC…they had to do LOTS of trips backwards and forwards! Mrs Collins was flat out in the old LRC filling trays with books and Miss Y was just as busy at the new LRC emptying them on the floor and trying to keep them in order! Amazingly by 11am all of the books were sitting safely in the new LRC…

Library books in new LRC

The books are now in the new LRC ready to be shelved!

After carrying the books, our marvellous volunteers did more trips carrying all of the things from my “Office on the stage” up to the new LRC.

Miss Y's Office stuff

These things will go into my new office when the workmen finish using it as their tea room!

The day didn’t end there…in the afternoon the new shelving arrived on pallets ready to be installed the following day!!

New shelving has arrived

What a busy and exciting day for the LRC … and none of it could have happened without our wonderful Parent Power!

free glitter - http://www.sparklee.com

Now it’s time to get the books on the shelves, furniture ordered and lots of little touches to get our new LRC ready for us to enjoy….at last!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “Our Parent-Powered LRC Move

  1. Special thanks to the BEST teacher librarian in the world, Miss Yeomans, for coordinating the big move and to Mrs Collins for assisting her. Miss Yeomans has put lots of planning and energy into making sure the new LRC will be a great place to explore, discover, inquire, enjoy and relax.

    The builders have been very busy since the school holidays commenced. They have been working on the outside areas. Old concrete and asphalt has been removed in preparation for the installation of the covered walkway. The builders needed to be able to access the grounds while children have been off the premises. I’m sure everyone will be delighted to come back and see the progress.

    Mrs Stewart

  2. Hi Kim,

    Wow! I was so excited to read your post about the big move! That was a huge accomplishment and a big day for you all. Your office was on the stage?? That would have been fun! I’m sure all of your efforts will pay off for many years to come. I look forward to visiting your new LRC soon.

    Love

    Sue

  3. Hey Miss Y,

    The LRC looks good so far. Can’t wait to see it at the beginning of Term 3.
    Hows it going so far? We’re sure you and the parents that helped put a lot of effort into it.
    From Taylor 4e and Layla 2tm 🙂

  4. Hi Sue

    Thanks for popping by!

    In our hall we have a beautiful wood stage at the front. I set my “office” up on the stage to help keep it in good condition while the LRC was there. I must say that I’m looking forward to moving into my new office that has cupboards and a sink!!

    It will take a little while for the new LRC to develop into our final vision, but we’ll get there!

    Kim 🙂

  5. Hi Taylor and Layla

    It certainly was a big effort to move the LRC, but well worth it!

    At the moment I haven’t been able to get into the new LRC to shelve the books, but hopefully I will next week. I ordered our new tables and chairs yesterday and will do some more furniture ordering when school goes back.

    Keep your fingers crossed that we can use the new LRC in Week 3…

    Hope you’re both enjoying your holidays!

    Miss Y 🙂

  6. Hello Miss Yeomans,
    How are you? WOW! The new library looks really good. I wonder how it will all look when it’s finished. It will definitely look good! I hope you are having a good holiday.
    Good luck!
    From Nicholas!

  7. Hi Nicholas

    Great to hear from you!

    I’m good thanks, but I’m not so sure about this freezing winter weather!

    The LRC is coming along slowly. I’m relieved that we have moved most things up to the new LRC. I still have lots to do to get it organised yet. I’m sure we will all love our LRC when it’s finished!

    I hope you’re having a great holiday Nicholas and enjoying some sleep-ins and good books to read.

    Miss Y 🙂

  8. Hi Miss Y,
    I can’t wait to move into the new LRC! I’ve been trying to keep up with my reading even though I’m on holidays. I’ve been trying to go on to the blog so I can put dots on from new places. I really need a new book so I hope we can move into the LRC in week 3 so I can borrow looking forward to my next lesson. See you soon,
    Alice ;p

  9. Hi Alice

    We’re getting closer to moving into our new LRC!! We’re in the “home stretch”…

    I’m glad you have been trying to keep up with your reading over the holidays. I’ve enjoyed reading all of the books from the Australia girls series that I’ve recently bought for the LRC. What have you been reading?

    Thanks for your efforts getting dots on our ClustrMap. We’ve had quite afew visitors over the holidays.

    I hope to be open Week 3 depending on whether we get permission to do so.

    Miss Y 🙂

  10. Hi Miss Yeomans,
    It is so exciting that we are nearly going to move into the new LRC. I looked at the pictures and they look cool. See you when the new library is done.
    From Ruth :O

  11. Hey Miss Yeomans!

    I wish we had that when I was at SMOT.
    Hope it all works out well.

    From Andrew 7.7

  12. Hi Andrew

    Thanks for popping by to visit the LRC Blog!

    The new LRC is definitely VERY different to the old one you remember! It’s about double the size of our old LRC.

    You are more than welcome to come and visit once the LRC is open…perhaps when you have Pupil Free day at Marcellin.

    I’m sure you’re enjoying the LRC at Marcellin and I hope you are still reading lots of great books.

    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *