The World’s Worst Children by David Walliams

This morning my mission was to buy two copies of David Walliams‘ new book The World’s Worst Children for our library…

I tracked the book down at Target and sent a tweet to alert other teacher librarians that the book was available. Imagine my surprise when about two minutes later my phone went ping and David Walliams himself had actually liked my tweet! Twitter had connected me in Melbourne, Australia to David Walliams in London, England and now he knows that two more copies of his new book are going to be read by lots of happy readers in our library in Australia!

I laughed a lot reading this book and I’m really looking forward to sharing it in our library. David Walliams is at his funniest and wickedest and Tony Ross’ humorous illustrations (in colour!) perfectly capture each child’s cautionary tale.

You are going to laugh, cringe, groan and maybe even be appalled when meeting these five beastly boys and five gruesome girls…

Dribbling Drew
Bertha the Blubberer
Nigel Nit-Boy
Grubby Gertrude
Brian Wong
Miss Petula Perpetual Motion
Peter Picker
Windy Mindy
Earnest Ernest
Sofia Sofa

Newsagent Raj writes the introduction and begs you NOT to read this AWFUL book, but you won’t be able to stop reading about Dribbling Drew and his destructive drool; Nigel Nit-boy who teaches his nits to do shocking things; Grubby Gertrude who delights in living in a rubbish dump bedroom; Windy Mindy who can’t control her bottom burps and you will have read all of the stories before you know it!

I wonder how many of you might be a bit like one of the worst children in the world? Careful or you might find yourself in David Walliams’ Volume Two of The Worst Children in the World…

The 78-Storey Treehouse is coming in August!

The much anticipated SIXTH book in the Treehouse series by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton will be available on Tuesday, August 9th…

Join Andy and Terry in their spectacular new 78-storey treehouse. They’ve added 13 new levels including a drive-thru car wash, a combining machine, a scribbletorium, an ALL-BALL sports stadium, Andyland, Terrytown, a high-security potato chip storage facility and an open-air movie theatre. Well, what are you waiting for? Come on up!

Have you visited the Andy Griffiths website recently?

How did the pages of our book go missing?

Tristan Bancks always encourages his readers to write about things that happen to them so I’m writing a story about what happened to our copy of Tristan’s latest book…

A few weeks ago as you know, I went along to an Author Afternoon Tea at The Little Book Room. I was excited to have our copy of Tristan Bancks’ latest book My Life and Other Exploding Chickens signed for our library.

Three nights later on the Sunday night, I snuggled up on my couch to read Tristan’s new book before everyone else at school got their hands on it and I wouldn’t be able to borrow it for months! I laughed and groaned as I read Tom Weekly’s stories. I was reading ‘Death by Clown’ and feeling sorry for Tom at the circus and his fear of clowns when I reached page 78 where Giggles the Clown had control of the remote control and was driving Tom towards a ring of fire and to my horror I discovered the story skipped to page 85!!! Oh no! Pages were missing! Who was going to win the battle of Tom Weekly versus Giggles the Clown??

At first I wondered if Tristan was playing a trick on his readers by leaving the last few pages out of his story. Then I looked a little closer and the pages hadn’t been left out, they had been RIPPED out of the book! How did that happen? Who would do that to a book? Leesa at The Little Book Room was as perplexed as me and kindly offered to replace our book.

In the LRC that week I told the Year 3-6 classes about the mystery of the missing pages and we all wondered why someone would rip the pages out. We had fun listening to ‘Sit Where You Knit’ (some of us with grimacing faces and tears in our eyes) before I posted the book back. I then rushed out to buy another copy of the book so we would have two copies, but more importantly I had to see if Tom beat Giggles and also finish reading the remaining stories! (You can now borrow the book to find out too).

On Saturday morning the mystery of our missing pages was solved! I watched the Kids’ WB show and their interview with Tristan Bancks at The Little Book Room. Adrian Beck, Shane Crawford and the Kids’ WB team had fun disguising Tristan so he could prank some kids in the book shop….Tristan was hilarious!

Some of the pranks Tristan did included ripping a copy of his new book in half, dropping an ‘original’ Wimpy Kid picture ‘accidentally’ into a fish bowl and ripping pages out of his book to eat! Yes he RIPPED pages out of his book! I laughed and laughed when I realised THAT must have been the book I picked up and bought and asked Tristan to sign!! What were the chances of me picking up that book?

The mystery of the missing pages in our book has been solved and who would have thought it was the author who was the culprit! Now we have our own fun story to tell about My Life and Other Exploding Chickens….

#ReadingIsFun

The 52-Storey Treehouse @ the Melbourne Arts Centre

The 52-Storey Treehouse play 

This is a play by Richard Tulloch adapted from the best-selling book The 52-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton.

When: April 1-17

Where: The Playhouse Theatre at the Melbourne Arts Centre

Definitely a ‘must see’ for fans of Andy and Terry. Click HERE for details. 

Elephant & Piggie by Mo Willems

This term the Year Ones have had lots of fun reading our Elephant & Piggie books by Mo Willems. It has also been a fun way to learn about speech bubbles and how exclamation marks help you to read with expression. 

Mo Willems’ latest Elephant & Piggie book is called I Really Like Slop! Mo made a funny book trailer for his new book that made the Year Ones very glad that they weren’t the food critics for his Slop!

The Year Ones chose ingredients to write a recipe for their own Slop and then they each added one of their ingredients for a class Slop recipe. You can read their class Slop recipes, but you may not want to try eating them! 

Slop Recipe by 1C        Slop Recipe by 1GC        Slop Recipe by 1MB

Have fun with Elephant & Piggie and Pigeon on their website by clicking on the picture below…

Do you have a favourite Elephant & Piggie book?