78-Storey Treehouse fun with Andy and Terry on Kids’ WB

Five VERY lucky students from our school were chosen to go on the Kids’ WB show to meet Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton after they sent an email saying why they were BIG fans of their Treehouse series.

They travelled into the Channel 9 studios and waited with 17 other kids in the Green Room before entering the Kids’ WB studio for the fun to begin with Andy, Terry, Crawf and Lauren. Some of the kids had an opportunity to ask Terry and Andy a question; they all helped make a movie trailer for ‘The 78-Storey Treehouse’ and had lots of fun being on Team Andy or Team Terry and cheering them on as they completed a crazy challenge based on the Treehouse series complete with a Popcornado, dinosaur balloons, and Splat-it Blasters!! At the end everyone won their own signed copy of ‘The 78-Storey Treehouse’ (officially the fastest selling Australian book of all time!)

A HUGE thank you to everyone at Kids’ WB for selecting our five students for this fabulous experience and making reading FUN!

It was a very exciting day for our students meeting Andy and Terry and being on Kids’ WB…

Here are our lucky students with their copies of ‘The 78-Storey Treehouse’ and some of their favourite pages…

This is some of what they had to say about their very exciting day…

When I went to Kids’ WB there was a race between Andy and Terry. You had to pick Team Andy or Team Terry. They started off at the Popcornado and had to fill their popcorn box up. Then they ran out to find a magic ticket. Then they had to dodge some obstacles and jump on to a chair. They tried to wrestle each other off the chair, but they tied. I got a Splat-It from behind the chair and shot Shane Crawford in the face.
Thank you Miss Y for telling the St  Martin’s kids about the chance to meet Andy and Terry. (JM in 2B)

I loved meeting Andy and Terry for my fifth time. My favourite part of being on Kids’ WB was when Crawf used lots of cool things to get marshmallows into his mouth like a giant tennis racquet and a megaphone! (RP in 3MC)

When we arrived at the Kids’ WB studio, the receptionist said  “Walk to the wall” and I wondered why until the wall actually slid open! I really liked when Terry fell out of the Popcornado (and eating the marshmallows)!  (AH in 3MC)

Andy and Terry did a challenge for us to win a copy of their book. Terry fell out of the Popcornado! There was a ticket shower and you had to get a magical ticket and the first to sit on the chair won. There were also Splat-It guns and Crawf almost shot me in the face! In the end we all won a signed copy of ‘The 78-Storey Treehouse’. (BH in 4TV)

I was one of the lucky kids to ask Andy and Terry a question. I asked them “What is your favourite line or picture that you have ever drawn or written?” Terry said “Drawing the Banana Enlarger” and Andy said “When the Scribbletorium explodes and scribble goes everywhere.” I loved the marshmallows and making a movie trailer where I got to do a crazy dance! (AM in 4TV)

You can watch this Kids’ WB  Treehouse episode on Saturday, August 20th from 8.30am

One of our creative Year 1 students who loves Andy and Terry’s Treehouse series made this fabulous treehouse (with a little help from his dad). Thank you for letting us have it on display in our library…

The World’s Worst Children by David Walliams

This morning my mission was to buy two copies of David Walliams‘ new book The World’s Worst Children for our library…

I tracked the book down at Target and sent a tweet to alert other teacher librarians that the book was available. Imagine my surprise when about two minutes later my phone went ping and David Walliams himself had actually liked my tweet! Twitter had connected me in Melbourne, Australia to David Walliams in London, England and now he knows that two more copies of his new book are going to be read by lots of happy readers in our library in Australia!

I laughed a lot reading this book and I’m really looking forward to sharing it in our library. David Walliams is at his funniest and wickedest and Tony Ross’ humorous illustrations (in colour!) perfectly capture each child’s cautionary tale.

You are going to laugh, cringe, groan and maybe even be appalled when meeting these five beastly boys and five gruesome girls…

Dribbling Drew
Bertha the Blubberer
Nigel Nit-Boy
Grubby Gertrude
Brian Wong
Miss Petula Perpetual Motion
Peter Picker
Windy Mindy
Earnest Ernest
Sofia Sofa

Newsagent Raj writes the introduction and begs you NOT to read this AWFUL book, but you won’t be able to stop reading about Dribbling Drew and his destructive drool; Nigel Nit-boy who teaches his nits to do shocking things; Grubby Gertrude who delights in living in a rubbish dump bedroom; Windy Mindy who can’t control her bottom burps and you will have read all of the stories before you know it!

I wonder how many of you might be a bit like one of the worst children in the world? Careful or you might find yourself in David Walliams’ Volume Two of The Worst Children in the World…

The 78-Storey Treehouse is coming in August!

The much anticipated SIXTH book in the Treehouse series by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton will be available on Tuesday, August 9th…

Join Andy and Terry in their spectacular new 78-storey treehouse. They’ve added 13 new levels including a drive-thru car wash, a combining machine, a scribbletorium, an ALL-BALL sports stadium, Andyland, Terrytown, a high-security potato chip storage facility and an open-air movie theatre. Well, what are you waiting for? Come on up!

Have you visited the Andy Griffiths website recently?

How did the pages of our book go missing?

Tristan Bancks always encourages his readers to write about things that happen to them so I’m writing a story about what happened to our copy of Tristan’s latest book…

A few weeks ago as you know, I went along to an Author Afternoon Tea at The Little Book Room. I was excited to have our copy of Tristan Bancks’ latest book My Life and Other Exploding Chickens signed for our library.

Three nights later on the Sunday night, I snuggled up on my couch to read Tristan’s new book before everyone else at school got their hands on it and I wouldn’t be able to borrow it for months! I laughed and groaned as I read Tom Weekly’s stories. I was reading ‘Death by Clown’ and feeling sorry for Tom at the circus and his fear of clowns when I reached page 78 where Giggles the Clown had control of the remote control and was driving Tom towards a ring of fire and to my horror I discovered the story skipped to page 85!!! Oh no! Pages were missing! Who was going to win the battle of Tom Weekly versus Giggles the Clown??

At first I wondered if Tristan was playing a trick on his readers by leaving the last few pages out of his story. Then I looked a little closer and the pages hadn’t been left out, they had been RIPPED out of the book! How did that happen? Who would do that to a book? Leesa at The Little Book Room was as perplexed as me and kindly offered to replace our book.

In the LRC that week I told the Year 3-6 classes about the mystery of the missing pages and we all wondered why someone would rip the pages out. We had fun listening to ‘Sit Where You Knit’ (some of us with grimacing faces and tears in our eyes) before I posted the book back. I then rushed out to buy another copy of the book so we would have two copies, but more importantly I had to see if Tom beat Giggles and also finish reading the remaining stories! (You can now borrow the book to find out too).

On Saturday morning the mystery of our missing pages was solved! I watched the Kids’ WB show and their interview with Tristan Bancks at The Little Book Room. Adrian Beck, Shane Crawford and the Kids’ WB team had fun disguising Tristan so he could prank some kids in the book shop….Tristan was hilarious!

Some of the pranks Tristan did included ripping a copy of his new book in half, dropping an ‘original’ Wimpy Kid picture ‘accidentally’ into a fish bowl and ripping pages out of his book to eat! Yes he RIPPED pages out of his book! I laughed and laughed when I realised THAT must have been the book I picked up and bought and asked Tristan to sign!! What were the chances of me picking up that book?

The mystery of the missing pages in our book has been solved and who would have thought it was the author who was the culprit! Now we have our own fun story to tell about My Life and Other Exploding Chickens….


The 52-Storey Treehouse @ the Melbourne Arts Centre

The 52-Storey Treehouse play 

This is a play by Richard Tulloch adapted from the best-selling book The 52-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton.

When: April 1-17

Where: The Playhouse Theatre at the Melbourne Arts Centre

Definitely a ‘must see’ for fans of Andy and Terry. Click HERE for details.