Terrific Teacher Librarian Day

I wasn’t in our LRC today, instead I was in the city for a day of learning with other teacher librarians.  It was also a day of “teacher librarian treats”…

My first treat was on the 7.30am train where I was excited to have half an hour to sneak a read and get lost in the book below The Honest Truth recommended by Mrs Hembree my teacher librarian friend in Seattle. This wonderful book for Senior Fiction will definitely come with one of my ’tissue alerts”! I’ll write about this book soon so stay tuned.

As I had arrived early in the city I wandered along to Degraves Street and its wonderful cafes for a coffee. My second treat was a mocha that was a “chocolatey work of art” and delightfully delicious! Degraves Street was busy and buzzing just like our LRC is before school each morning, except it had coffee and more grown-ups!

My best treat was waiting for me when I popped into the gorgeous bookshop The Little Bookroom in Degraves Street. This lovely gentleman and I had a wonderful chat about books and he asked me if I would like to hear a story. Of course I would!!!  As a teacher librarian I read LOTS of stories to others, but very rarely does anyone read to me. So for a few blissful minutes I thoroughly enjoyed listening to a very popular story in our library about one of our favourite chickens Peggy by Anna Walker…it made my day! Thank you 🙂

The rest of my day was very busy and filled with learning about Google Apps For Education, sharing lots of ideas and talking about books with other teacher librarians which is such a treat when you are the only teacher librarian in your school! 

My day ended perfectly with my train trip home and another opportunity to sneak a read…

When or where do you like to ‘sneak a read’?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

10 thoughts on “Terrific Teacher Librarian Day

  1. Hi Miss Y,
    I try to ‘sneak a read’ before bed, when I’m relaxed, especially after a busy day at school. Sometimes, I find it so difficult to put a good book down! I just want to find out what happens next.
    Glad to hear you had a good day today.
    From Mrs M

  2. Hi Mrs M,

    I ‘sneak a read’ every night when I go to bed. I snuggle up and escape into my book for a while. Sometimes like you, I read for a bit too long when it’s a good book!

    Happy reading…

    Miss Y 🙂

  3. Hi Miss Y

    I like to sneak a read when I am in bed even when my mum told me not to.

    Olivia

  4. Dear Miss Y,

    I like how you put up links to you meeting the author of Peggy and other things like
    sneak a read.

    Antonio

  5. Hi Miss Y
    I just finished the 52 storey tree house. I enjoyed the whole series. I am now really enjoying Meet Grace. I can’t get my head out of it. Have you got your head stuck in a book lately?
    Lily

  6. Hi Olivia,

    It’s okay to sneak a read occasionally, but you also need to get your sleep!

    Perhaps you can do what I do and go to bed a bit earlier on the nights you want to read or if you want to read for a bit longer.

    Happy reading!

    Miss Y 🙂

  7. Hi Antonio

    I’m glad you enjoy following the links and other things I put on the blog.

    One day I would like to meet Anna Walker who is the author of Peggy. The man in the photo who read to me actually worked in the shop. He is a great story reader!

    When do you like to sneak a read Antonio?

    Miss Y 🙂

  8. Hi Lily,

    Congratulations on finishing the whole Treehouse series! Do you have a favourite book?

    I really like the Meet Grace books and all of the My Australian Girl series because you can see what it was like living in different times in Australia’s history.

    At the moment I have just finished a new book for the library called ‘The Honest Truth” and I have a BIG pile of new library books next to my bed to read!!

    Happy reading…

    Miss Y 🙂

  9. Dear Miss Y
    Lovely to read about your exciting day. It seemed to tick all the boxes, reading, talking, learning, travelling and having fun.
    Celia

  10. Dear Celia,

    Chocolate was involved too and that is always a good thing!

    You will be pleased to know that the teacher librarians worked together to make our Google+ page.

    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *