Sharing Andy Griffiths books with our American reading buddies

Mrs Hembree is our wonderful librarian blogging buddy in Seattle, Washington.  We know Mrs Hembree for her inspiring book trailers as well as being our Library Angel in Seattle. This time last year when our LRC had been flooded, Mrs Hembree asked other librarians via Twitter and her Bulldog Readers blog  to send us books to replace our water damaged books.  I was incredibly touched by her compassion.  Mrs Hembree sent us some Elephant & Piggie books by Mo Willems and we have become BIG fans!  As you can see our collection is growing…

This year I wanted to share some of our favourite books with Mrs Hembree and her students.  Over the holidays I posted them copies of The 13-storey Treehouse and The 26-storey Treehouse by one of our favourite authors, the very funny Andy Griffiths!  We have had lots of creative fun with these books in our LRC including making our own 38-story tree house and 124 flavours ice-cream based on these books.  I’m sure American kids will appreciate Andy and Terry’s humour too!

When I checked my email this morning I found this blog post from Mrs Hembree  so I knew our books had arrived safely! (Click on the photo to read Mrs Hembree’s blog post)

Like Mrs Hembree, I love the connections we have made through our reading and our blogging!  I can’t wait to hear what the Bulldog readers in Mrs Hembree’s library think of their new books.  I wonder if we could work together to create a global tree house….

What would you tell the Bulldog readers at Mrs Hembree’s library about Andy’s books?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Sharing Andy Griffiths books with our American reading buddies

  1. Dear Miss Y,

    What a wonderful connection you have with your blogging friend Mrs Hembree.

    I really love the fact that you are sharing the love of different books with one and other even though you live in different ends of the globe.

    May your special friendship and connection go on for many years to come. Some how I do believe that it will.

    Take care Miss Y.

    From your friend,
    AA 🙂

  2. Hi AA

    Great to hear from you!

    I really enjoy sharing with Mrs Hembree and seeing what she is doing in her library. I love that the internet allows us to make wonderful global connections. (Just as you and BB have done with Mrs Hembree!)

    Wouldn’t it be great if we could all meet one day…

    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *