What is the BEST card you can own?

A library card is the BEST card you can own!

 

This week the Grade 1 and 2 classes have been reading Library Lily by Gillian Shields.

When Lily learned to read, her mum took her to the library to get her own library card. Lily was so excited because she could borrow lots of books that could take her on wonderful adventures.  Lily couldn’t stop reading and she always had her head in a book so people started to call her Library Lily!

Miss Y showed us her  favourite card in her purse ….her library card of course!

It was great to see that lots of children in Grade 1 and 2 already have their own library card!   We can use our library card at different branch libraries in the Yarra Plenty Regional Library.  Most of us go to Watsonia or Rosanna libraries.  We all love choosing our books to read and then swiping our card in the computer and pushing the button to print out our LONG list of  borrowed books. (We wish we could do this in the LRC too!)

Watch this video – Having fun isn’t hard when you have a library card

What is the BEST thing about having a library card?

What books do you like to borrow with your library card?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

6 thoughts on “What is the BEST card you can own?

  1. The other great card I own is my bank card so I can purchase books and withdraw cash from the bank to do shopping.
    Like Lily I think the best card is a library card because it gives you the privilege of borrowing books and resources from the library. There’s nothing better that reading a good book.
    Mrs Stewart.

  2. Dear Miss Y

    It looks like you have had a good read to start the year. I know I have started very well at my new school. I have already made some new friends. Their names are Tianah, Sophie and if you remember Penny S. My mum and dad both have two library cards.

    From Grace T

  3. Hi Grace

    It is wonderful to hear from you!! We were only just talking about you in the LRC yesterday when the Grade Threes were in the LRC.

    I’m so glad to hear you have settled so well into your new school and that you have already made some friends. I remember Penny, so please say hello to her for me.

    I hope Jordyn has settled in well at her new school too.

    I miss seeing both you and Jordyn in the LRC. I hope you are both enjoying your new libraries and are reading lots of great books!

    Miss Y 🙂

  4. Hi Faith

    It’s great to have your own library card. How often do you visit the library at Rosanna?

    Watsonia is the library I visit.

    Miss Y 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *